Atkins Weight Loss Program

Atkins Weight Loss Program

Experts are devising different types of diet so people get to achieve their ideal weight. One of many diets one can use today is the Atkins weight loss program. The Atkins weight loss program is known as the low carbohydrates, low fat diet and usually runs for six months.

Those who choose to follow the Atkins weight loss diet are required to reduce their carbohydrate intake to just 30 grams per day. As for fats, they can only eat the healthy type of fat, like omega-3 fatty acids. Atkins dieters are also need to control the amount of calorie they gain from fatty foods to only 30% of their total diet.

atkins-weight-loss-programThe main force behind the Atkins weight loss program is the fact that if the body doesn’t get the necessary fuel it needs from carbohydrates, it would get it from other sources. And as such, it will turn to fats to get the energy it requires.

The Atkins weight loss program is divided into four phases. The first phase is called induction, wherein you get to eat little to no carbohydrates throughout its length. The maximum carbohydrate you can consume is only 20 grams everyday. Phase two is called the ‘ongoing weight loss phase’. In this phase, you can slowly put back carbohydrates into your diet. From 20 grams during the induction phase, you can now take as much as 25 grams.

The third phase is called the pre-maintenance phase. Here, you do the transition from losing the inches toward maintaining your weight. During the pre-maintenance phase, you can add another 5 grams to your carbohydrate intake, making it 30 grams everyday.

The fourth and last phase is called lifetime maintenance. This is the phase that you will keep all throughout. Here, you are allowed to eat all kinds of foods for as long as you are still watching your carbohydrate intake. Ideally, you should never go over 30g to 35g at any given time.

The Atkins weight loss program follows a food pyramid of the things you can eat. Right at the bottom of the food pyramid is the bread, cereal, rice, and pasta group. You can take as much as 11 servings from this food group, as they take up a big chunk of your diet.

vegetable-fruit-healthy-lifestyleFruits and vegetables are positioned on top of the bread and cereal group on the food pyramid. For green leafy vegetables, you can eat as much as 5 servings. For fruits, make sure you eat 2 to 4 servings each day.

Milk, yogurt, and cheese are placed above food and vegetables. They occupy that spot together with meat and poultry. These food groups are good sources of proteins and you can eat 2 to 3 servings from each. Fats, oils, and sweets are right at the top of the pyramid. There’s no required amount to take each day. But you are advised to take them sparingly.

The Atkins weight loss program is one of the most popular diet programs today. If done right, you can certainly lose enough inches from your waistline to make you look perfectly good, like you should!

Tags: , , , , , ,
Previous Post
Weight Loss

8 Reason to Lose Weight Now

Next Post
Weight Loss

3 Choices To Help Your Weight Loss